A $10 billion AWS campus; state air permits came in August 2026, and regulators rejected Duke Energy's gas turbines for it in September.
Facts
As of Sep 18, 2026- Operator
- AWS
- Capacity
- Not stated by the company
- Investment
- $10B
- Power
- Duke Energy; a proposed gas plant was rejected
- Location
- Richmond County, North Carolina · Cloud regions nearby
- Announced
- Jun 4, 2025
History
Append-only, newest firstRelated builds
| Build | Capacity | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indiana | 2.4 GW | Announced | ||
| Saudi Arabia | 50 MW | Building | Dec 2026 | |
| Hyderabad, India | Not stated | Building | ||
| Auckland, New Zealand | Not stated | Online | Sep 1, 2025 | |
| Jackson, Georgia | Not stated | Announced | ||
| Santiago, Chile | Not stated | Building | 2026 | |
| Zaragoza, Spain | Not stated | Partly online | 2035 | |
| Clinton, Mississippi | Not stated | Announced |
Sources and links
- Amazon: North Carolina data center investment · Amazon · Jun 4, 2025
- WUNC: Richmond County data center gets air permits · WUNC · Aug 29, 2026
Across fru.dev: AWS on Companies, AWS on Partnerships, cloud regions on Regions.